GHS Global Status

GHS Implementation Status by Global Region

To assist our web visitors, we’ve tried to offer a quick summary of the current GHS Implementation status. We’ve copied information directly from Please visit their website for more information.

GHS Implementation Timeline:

For information by global region, please consult the full list here:

GHS has been implemented in these global regions:

European Union (EU) and European Economic Area (EEA) (see below), Brazil, People’s Republic of China, Canada, Ecuador, Indonesia, Japan, Korea, Malaysia, Mauritius, New Zealand, Philippines, Singapore, Taiwan, Thailand, Turkey, Uruguay, and the United States.

The European Union (EU) and European Economic Area (EEA) includes the following 28 countries which are Member States of the EU:Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Netherlands and the United Kingdom.

The candidate countries: Iceland, Montenegro, Serbia, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia and Turkey already started to implement current legislation. Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway are the members of the European Economic Area (EEA). The EEA Agreement allows them to participate in the EU Internal Market, while not assuming the full responsibilities of EU membership.

These countries are in the process of implementation: Hong Kong, Mexico, Argentina, Australia, Russia, Ukraine, Vietnam.

GHS has not yet been implemented in these global regions:

Some are already in process, and others have no plans to implement.
Abu Dhabi, Albania, Angola, Bolivia, Botswana, Cambodia, Chad, Chile, Colombia, Congo, Costa Rica, Egypt, Guatemala, Honduras, India, Israel, Malawi, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Pakistan, Peru, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Tanzania, Zambia, Zimbabwe.